Programs

The Chaminade course of studies has been devised in conformity with the school's consistent policy of promoting the greatest intellectual competence together with the highest moral character. The scope of the curriculum provides for a liberal education which meets the most stringent of college entrance requirements.

All students take four years of English, social studies, language, mathematics, religion, science, and physical education. All students also study one year of music and art, one year of health, and a second year of art and music. In addition, all students take four years of Academic Enrichment and two years of Bloomberg Financial.

Academic Enrichment

The four-year academic program is anchored by the Academic Enrichment 9, 10, 11, and 12 courses. Each course is designed to complement instruction in the six core subjects, while developing in students the necessary skills to be successful, responsible, and conscientious learners.

Academic Enrichment 9 focuses on the transition to high school, teaching students to apply evidence-based study skills in their learning. Additionally, students will be introduced to computer programming, guided through lessons in digital citizenship, and given the chance to develop 21st-century skills like communication, collaboration, creativity, and critical thinking.

Academic Enrichment 10 is a continuation of the freshman program. Continuing with lessons in digital citizenship, study skills, computer programming, and 21st-century skills, students are also given standardized-test preparation and focused instruction on research and inquiry.

Academic Enrichment 11 continues previous instruction in study skills, computer programming, and standardized-test preparation but also introduces students to financial literacy. Students work in the Bloomberg Financial Center, learning how to use Bloomberg Financial software on our 16 terminals.

Academic Enrichment 12 helps students turn toward the college process. In addition to continuing previous instruction in study skills, computer programming, and the Bloomberg program, students work with the College Placement Office to complete their college applications and begin the transition to post-secondary study.

English

The English program combines the study of literature with developmental instruction and exercise in vocabulary, speech, composition, and grammar. Classroom discussion of reading assignments covers the major aspects of American and English literature.

Mr. Thomas Dillon ’92
English Department Chair
English III
tdillon@chamiade-hs.org

Mr. Peter Accardi
English III
paccardi@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Jason Booth
Advanced Language, English IV
jbooth@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Michael Bruno ’90
English IV
mbruno@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Joseph Caso
English I
jcaso@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Denis Flood ’89
English II
dflood@chaminade-hs.org

Ms. Heidi Hafner
English I
hhafner@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Michael Ingrassia ’94
English II, IV
mingrassia@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Matthew Kaplan ’97
Advanced Language and Composition
mkaplan@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Cole Malsky
English II
cmalsky@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Patrick Reichart ’01
English I
preichart@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Andrew Salecker ’12
English I, II
asalecker@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Peter Vanderberg
English III
pvanderberg@chaminade-hs.org

Fine Arts

All students follow a three-year sequence in Fine Arts. Freshmen take music -- an appreciation course emphasizing major musical styles and composers along with the development of critical listening skills. Studio art, offered to all juniors, provides students with studio experiences in drawing, painting, and calligraphy in order to learn the principles of design and composition.

Seniors study advanced fine arts, which consists of a half a year of advanced music and a half a year of advanced art. These courses explore significant historical and critical elements of the contribution of the arts to our shared human experience. The courses focus on selected outstanding works of art and music and the many cultural connections that can be drawn from them.

Bro. Karl Hornberger, S.M. ’77
Fine Arts Department Chair
khornberger@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Justin Accordino
Studio Art, Advanced Art
jaccordino@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Anthony Bovota
Crimson Band Director
abovota@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Robert Evans
Flyers Band Director
revans@chaminade-hs.org

Mrs. Viktoriya Khokhlova
Music I
Vocal Chamber Ensemble Director
Glee Club Moderator
vkhokhlova@chaminade-hs.org

Bro. Robert Lahey, S.M. ’65
Music I
rlahey@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Brian Lewis
Gold Band Director
Jazz Band Director
Pit Band Director
blewis@chaminade-hs.org

Mrs. Sally Zehnter
Music I, Advanced Music
String Orchestra Director
szehnter@chaminade-hs.org

Language

Chaminade offers four-year language programs in Chinese, French, Spanish, and Latin. Each student studies his chosen language for four scholastic years. The first two years of language studies focus primarily on structure, vocabulary, and culture. Levels III and IV emphasize complex grammatical and verb formations as well as literature, culture, reading, and writing. Level V, for accelerated students, encompasses in more detail the study of culture, history, and literature.

Mrs. Alanna Kump
Language Department Chair
Spanish IV
akump@chaminade-hs.org

Mrs. Maria Agosti
Spanish II, V
magosti@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Sebastian Agosti ’09
Spanish I
sagosti@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Thomas Cassidy ’93
Spanish IV
tcassidy@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Declan Hart ’11
Spanish I
dhart@chaminade-hs.org

Bro. Richard Hartz, S.M. ’59
German IV
rhartz@chaminade-hs.org

Rev. Garrett Long, S.M. ’62
Latin IV
glong@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Shuchao Luo
Chinese II
sluo@chaminade-hs.org

Ms. Kayley Mavridis
Spanish III
kmavridis@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Terence McCormick ’03
French I, IV
tmccormick@chaminade-hs.org

Bro. John McGrory, S.M. ’84
German III; Latin V
jmcgrory@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Gabriel Ramos ’04
Spanish II
gramos@chaminade-hs.org

Mrs. Rita Santiago-Espinal
French II, III, V; Spanish I
respinal@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Gregory Saporita ’02
Spanish III
gsaporita@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Daniel Terzulli
Latin III
dterzulli@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Gergory Walsh
Chinese I, III, IV
gwalsh@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Steven Zelubowski
Latin I, II
szelubowski@chaminade-hs.org

Mathematics

All students follow a four-year mathematics program. Concepts cover two- and three-dimensional geometry, algebra, trigonometry, advanced functions, and calculus. Conceptual understanding is emphasized and computational skills are developed and reinforced during math practicum periods.

Mr. Thomas Giovannetti
Mathematics Department Chair
Precalculus 10
tgiovannetti@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Kevin Beirne ’00
Algebra 10
kbeirne@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. John Callinan ’84
Calculus
jcallinan@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Peter Carriero ’96
Math 11
pcarriero@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Andrew Corcoran ’01
Calculus
acorcoran@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Terence Fitzgibbon ’00
Advanced Calculus, Calculus II
tfitzgibbon@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Gregory Gerner ’10
Geometry
ggerner@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Daniel Haslbauer ’11
Geometry, Precalculus 10
dhaslbauer@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Brian Hayes ’99
Geometry, Algebra 10
bhayes@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Robert Hazelton ’82
Geometry
rhazelton@chaminade-hs.org

Bro. Karl Hornberger, S.M. ’77
Precalculus
khornberger@chaminade-hs.org

Mrs. Carol Leotta
Math 11
cleotta@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Shuchao Luo
Geomtery
sluo@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Michael Strandberg ’09
Calculus I, Advanced Calculus I, Precalculus 10
mstrandberg@chaminade-hs.org

Physical Education & Health

All students are required to take four years of physical education. The activities of the program for the four years are: physical fitness testing (twice annually), calisthenics, aerobics and weight training, softball, basketball, team handball, soccer, swimming, volleyball, speedball, mass games, and classes in the Chaminade Physical Fitness Center.

The one-year health course is given to sophomores. Units are taught with the understanding of how health issues in today's society affect students as citizens and as Catholics.

Mr. Daniel Feeney
Physical Education Department Chair
dfeeney@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Michael Moran
Health Department Chair
Physical Education
mmoran@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Stephen Boyd
Physical Education
sboyd@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Kevin Carroll
Physical Education
kcarroll@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Scott Cole ’95
Physical Education
scole@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Christopher Lynch ’82
Physical Education
clynch@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Thomas Paul
Health
tpaul@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Robert Pomponio
Physical Education
rpomponio@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Jorge Vargas
Physical Education
jvargas@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Robert Zehnder
Physical Education
rzehnder@chaminade-hs.org

Religion

The Chaminade Religion Department seeks to demonstrate the vitality of Christ's message to the present age so students might find personal identity in the framework of Christian commitment. The four-year course includes the study of Scripture, the Person of Christ, Church history, the sacraments, the growth and development of the person, self-knowledge, human relationships, the meaning of Christian maturity, faith, belief in God, and Catholic social teaching.

Bro. Patrick Sarsfield, S.M. ’86
Religion Department Chair
History of Salvation II
psarsfield@chaminade-hs.org

Bro. Stephen Balletta, S.M. ’74
Christian Existence
sballetta@chaminade-hs.org

Bro. Joseph Bellizzi, S.M. ’78
History of Salvation I
jbellizzi@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Matthew Chicavich ’98
Christian Existence
mchicavich@chaminade-hs.org

Bro. Thomas Cleary, S.M. ’81
Christian Existence
tcleary@chaminade-hs.org

Bro. Ryszard Decowski, S.M. ’77
History of Salvation II
rdecowski@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Michael Dolce ’99
History of Salvation I, Christian Humanism
mdolce@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Michael Foley ’99
Christian Humanism
mfoley@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Zachary Indovino
History of Salvation I
zindovino@chaminade-hs.org

Mrs. Cheryl MacDougall
History of Salvation I
cmacdougall@chaminade-hs.org

Bro. John McGrory, S.M. ’84
Christian Existence
jmcgrory@chaminade-hs.org

Bro. Dermot Meehan, S.M. ’74
Christian Existence
dmeehan@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Daniel Petruccio
Christian Humanism
dpetruccio@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Denis Sugure
Christian Humanism
dsugrue@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Daniel Terzulli
History of Salvation II
dterzulli@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Benjamin Volpe
History of Salvation I, II
bvolpe@chaminade-hs.org

Science

Students at Chaminade complete a four-year program in science. Students begin their freshman year with a rigorous honors-level biology course, followed by chemistry, physics, and a natural science offering. During the sophomore, junior, and senior years, students may apply for Advanced Placement (AP)-aligned courses in biology, chemistry, and physics. Students not enrolled in the AP-aligned physics course during senior year may choose from several honors or AP-aligned Earth and space science courses.

The goal of the science program is twofold: to present students with the opportunity to discover the orderliness and wonder of the natural world and to understand the laws governing this order. The science program provides enhanced opportunities to students naturally gifted in mathematics and science while providing all students a thorough background in the natural sciences.

Bro. Benjamin Knapp, S.M. ’93
Science Department Chair
Physics
bknapp@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Joseph Amorizzo ’07
Chemistry 11
jamorizzo@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Matthew Chicavich ’98
Physics
mchicavich@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Andrew Corcoran ’01
Advanced Biology
acorcoran@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Peter Dubon ’99
Advanced Biology, Biology, Chemistry 11
pdubon@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. P. Casey Giordano ’93
Chemistry
cgiordano@chaminade-hs.org

Dr. Elias Kotsovolos
Chemistry 10
ekotsovolos@chaminade-hs.org

Dr. Karen Kuntz
Biology
kkuntz@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Thomas Liguori
Physics
tliguori@chaminade-hs.org

Bro. Dermot Meehan, S.M. ’74
Biology
dmeehan@chaminade-hs.org

Dr. Brianna O'Neill
Chemistry
boneill@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Pasquale Razzano
Biology 10
prazzano@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Richard Rosin ’14
Chemistry 10, 11
rrosin@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Ahmed Sarhan
Chemistry 10, Biology
asarhan@chaminade-hs.org

Dr. Melinda Viscusi
Biology
mviscusi@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Peter Warner
Physics
pwarner@chaminade-hs.org

Social Studies

Courses in global studies, European history, and United States history focus on the events and forces which shaped the world. Students also examine current events, studying contemporary trends in the context of political, economic, and social history.

Mr. Brian Anselmo ’89
Social Studies Department Chair
U.S. History
banselmo@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Darrin Dawber
Global Studies I
ddawber@chaminade-hs.org

Ms. Colleen Gilroy
Global History II, Advanced European History
cgilroy@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Patrick Hoey ’01
Topics in U.S. History, Advanced U.S. History
phoey@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Vincent Jeffrey ’04
Advanced Government and Politics
vjeffrey@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Patrick Kemp ’04
Advanced Government and Politics
pkemp@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. John Mazzello
Global Studies II, Advanced European History
jmazzello@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Michael McCarthy
Global Studies II
mmccarthy@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Terence McCormick ’03
U.S. History
tmccormick@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Martin Munnelly ’87
Global Studies I, U.S. History
mmunnelly@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Robert O'Keefe ’04
Topics in U.S. History, Advanced U.S. History
rokeefe@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Kevin O'Neill
Global Studies I
koneill@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Kevin Parente ’82
Topics in U.S. History
kparente@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Christopher Safrath ’04
Global Studies I
csafrath@chaminade-hs.org