Programs

The Chaminade course of studies has been devised in conformity with the school's consistent policy of promoting the greatest intellectual competence together with the highest moral character. The scope of the curriculum provides for a liberal education which meets the most stringent of college entrance requirements.

All students take four years of English, social studies, language, mathematics, religion, science, and physical education. All students also study one year of music and art, one year of health, and a second year of art and music. In addition, all students participate in two years of technology education and two years of Bloomberg financial training. Courses in study skills, SAT/ACT prep, reading, math, religion, writing and grammar composition, and 4Cs (collaboration, communication, creativity, and critical thinking) are also available.

English

The English program combines the study of literature with developmental instruction and exercise in vocabulary, speech, composition, and grammar. Classroom discussion of reading assignments covers the major aspects of American and English literature.

Summer Reading Lists

Choose two texts from the list for your summer reading. While reading each text, you should keep a reading journal. You will record observations, questions, and general comments in your reading journal. These notes will help you build later assignments. Be sure to include page numbers, important quotations, and patterns that you notice. You may keep your journal on paper or on a computer program. Regardless of the form, you will have to submit portions of it for each assignment. This is the only component of the project that needs to be completed during the summer.

Freshmen (class of 2021)

Moneyball: The Art of Winning an Unfair Game by Michael Lewis
The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho
The Big Burn by Timothy Egan
Miracle in the Andes by Nando Parrado
Feed by M.T. Anderson
Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck
The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot
Jesus Shock by Peter Kreeft

Sophomores (Class of 2020)

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams
I am Malala by Malala Yousafzai
West by West by Jerry West
Life of Pi by Yann Martel
Originals by Adam Grant and Sheryl Sandberg
Hidden Figures by Margot Lee Shetterly
The Undoing Project by Michael Lewis
Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury

Juniors (Class of 2019)

All the Pretty Horses by Cormac McCarthy
Catch-22 by Joseph Heller
His Excellency: George Washington by Joseph Ellis
The Name of God is Mercy by Pope Francis
Things Fall Apart by Chinua Achebe
Silence by Shusaku Endo
The Disappearing Spoon by Sam Kean
The Obstacle is the Way by Ryan Holiday

Seniors (Class of 2018)

Night by Elie Wiesel
All the President’s Men by Bob Woodward and Carl Bernstein
Invisible Man by Ralph Ellison
Loaves and Fishes by Dorothy Day
Contact by Carl Sagan
The Great Partnership by Jonathan Sacks
The Question of God by Armand Nicholi
Tattoos on the Heart by Gregory Boyle
Hillbilly Elegy by J.D. Vance

Mr. Thomas Dillon ’92
English Department Chair
English III
tdillon@chamiade-hs.org

Mr. Peter Accardi
English III
paccardi@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Michael Bruno ’90
English IV
mbruno@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Joseph Caso
English I
jcaso@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Denis Flood ’89
English II
dflood@chaminade-hs.org

Ms. Heidi Hafner
English I
hhafner@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Michael Ingrassia ’94
English II
mingrassia@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Matthew Kaplan ’97
English IV
mkaplan@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Graham Otton ’05
English IV
gotton@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Patrick Reichart ’01
English I
preichart@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Andrew Salecker ’12
English I, II
asalecker@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Peter Vanderberg
English III
pvanderberg@chaminade-hs.org

Fine Arts

All students follow a three-year sequence in Fine Arts. Freshmen take music -- an appreciation course emphasizing major musical styles and composers along with the development of critical listening skills. Studio art, offered to all juniors, provides students with studio experiences in drawing, painting, and calligraphy in order to learn the principles of design and composition.

Seniors study advanced fine arts, which consists of a half a year of advanced music and a half a year of advanced art. These courses explore significant historical and critical elements of the contribution of the arts to our shared human experience. The courses focus on selected outstanding works of art and music and the many cultural connections that can be drawn from them.

Bro. Karl Hornberger, S.M. ’77
Fine Arts Department Chair
khornberger@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Justin Accordino
Studio Art I, II
jaccordino@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Anthony Bovota
Crimson Band Director
abovota@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Robert Evans
Flyers Band Director
revans@chaminade-hs.org

Mrs. Viktoriya Khokhlova
Music I
Vocal Chamber Ensemble Director
Glee Club Moderator
vkhokhlova@chaminade-hs.org

Bro. Robert Lahey, S.M. ’65
Music I
rlahey@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Brian Lewis
Gold Band Director
Jazz Band Director
Pit Band Director
blewis@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Peter Vanderberg
Studio Art
pvanderberg@chaminade-hs.org

Mrs. Sally Zehnter
Music I, Advanced Music
String Orchestra Director
szehnter@chaminade-hs.org

Language

Chaminade offers four-year language programs in Chinese, French, Spanish, and Latin. Each student studies his chosen language for four scholastic years. The first two years of language studies focus primarily on structure, vocabulary, and culture. Levels III and IV emphasize complex grammatical and verb formations as well as literature, culture, reading, and writing. Level V, for accelerated students, encompasses in more detail the study of culture, history, and literature.

Mrs. Alanna Kump
Language Department Chair
Spanish IV
akump@chaminade-hs.org

Mrs. Maria Agosti
Spanish II, V
magosti@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Sebastian Agosti ’09
Spanish I
sagosti@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Thomas Cassidy ’93
Spanish IV
tcassidy@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Declan Hart ’11
Spanish I
dhart@chaminade-hs.org

Bro. Richard Hartz, S.M. ’59
German IV, V
rhartz@chaminade-hs.org

Rev. Garrett Long, S.M. ’62
Latin IV
glong@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Shuchao Luo
Chinese I
sluo@chaminade-hs.org

Ms. Kayley Mavridis
Spanish II, III
kmavridis@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Terence McCormick ’03
French I, II
tmccormick@chaminade-hs.org

Bro. John McGrory, S.M. ’84
German I, II; Latin V
jmcgrory@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Gabriel Ramos ’04
Spanish II
gramos@chaminade-hs.org

Mrs. Rita Santiago-Espinal
French III, IV, V; Spanish I
respinal@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Gregory Saporita ’02
Spanish III
gsaporita@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Daniel Terzulli
Latin III
dterzulli@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Gergory Walsh
Chinese II, III, IV
gwalsh@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Steven Zelubowski
Latin I, II
szelubowski@chaminade-hs.org

Mathematics

All students follow a four-year mathematics program. Concepts cover two- and three-dimensional geometry, algebra, trigonometry, advanced functions, and calculus. Conceptual understanding is emphasized and computational skills are developed and reinforced during math practicum periods. Opportunities for Advanced Placement courses are available for students.

Mr. Thomas Giovannetti
Mathematics Department Chair
Geometry
tgiovannetti@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Kevin Beirne ’00
Geometry
kbeirne@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. John Callinan ’84
Introduction to Calculus
jcallinan@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Peter Carriero ’96
Math 11
pcarriero@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Andrew Corcoran ’01
Introduction to Calculus
acorcoran@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Terence Fitzgibbon ’00
Calculus I, II
tfitzgibbon@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Gregory Gerner ’10
Geometry
ggerner@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Daniel Haslbauer ’11
Geometry
dhaslbauer@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Brian Hayes ’99
Geometry
bhayes@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Robert Hazelton ’82
Geometry
rhazelton@chaminade-hs.org

Bro. Karl Hornberger, S.M. ’77
Pre-Calculus
khornberger@chaminade-hs.org

Mrs. Carol Leotta
Math 11
cleotta@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Shuchao Luo
Geomtery
sluo@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Michael Strandberg ’09
Geometry, Introduction to Calculus
mstrandberg@chaminade-hs.org

Physical Education & Health

All students are required to take four years of physical education. The activities of the program for the four years are: physical fitness testing (twice annually), calisthenics, aerobics and weight training, softball, basketball, team handball, soccer, swimming, volleyball, speedball, mass games, and classes in the Chaminade Physical Fitness Center.

The one-year health course is given to sophomores. Units are taught with the understanding of how health issues in today's society affect students as citizens and as Catholics.

Mr. Daniel Feeney
Physical Education Department Chair
dfeeney@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Michael Moran
Health Department Chair
Physical Education
mmoran@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Stephen Boyd
Physical Education
sboyd@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Kevin Carroll
Physical Education
kcarroll@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Scott Cole ’95
Physical Education
scole@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Christopher Lynch ’82
Health
clynch@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Thomas Paul
Physical Education
tpaul@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Robert Pomponio
Physical Education
rpomponio@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Jorge Vargas
Physical Education
jvargas@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Robert Zehnder
Physical Education
rzehnder@chaminade-hs.org

Religion

The Chaminade Religion Department seeks to demonstrate the vitality of Christ's message to the present age so students might find personal identity in the framework of Christian commitment. The four-year course includes the study of Scripture, the Person of Christ, Church history, the sacraments, the growth and development of the person, self-knowledge, human relationships, the meaning of Christian maturity, faith, belief in God, and Catholic social teaching.

Bro. Patrick Sarsfield, S.M. ’86
Religion Department Chair
History of Salvation II
psarsfield@chaminade-hs.org

Bro. Stephen Balletta, S.M. ’74
Christian Existence
sballetta@chaminade-hs.org

Bro. Joseph Bellizzi, S.M. ’78
History of Salvation I
jbellizzi@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Matthew Chicavich ’98
Christian Existence
mchicavich@chaminade-hs.org

Bro. Thomas Cleary, S.M. ’81
Christian Existence
tcleary@chaminade-hs.org

Bro. Ryszard Decowski, S.M. ’77
History of Salvation II
rdecowski@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Michael Dolce ’99
History of Salvation I, Christian Humanism
mdolce@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Michael Foley ’99
Christian Humanism
mfoley@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Vincent Jeffrey ’04
History of Salvation I, II
vjeffrey@chaminade-hs.org

Bro. Dermot Meehan, S.M. ’74
Christian Existence
dmeehan@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Daniel Petruccio
Christian Humanism
dpetruccio@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Denis Sugure
Christian Humanism
dsugrue@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Thomas Terrill ’10
History of Salvation I
tterrill@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Daniel Terzulli
History of Salvation II
dterzulli@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Benjamin Volpe
History of Salvation I, II
bvolpe@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Steven Zelubowski
History of Salvation I
szelubowski@chaminade-hs.org

Science

Students at Chaminade complete a four-year program in science. Students begin their freshman year with a rigorous honors-level biology course, followed by chemistry, physics, and Earth and space sciences. During the sophomore, junior, and senior years, students may apply for Advanced Placement (AP)-aligned courses in biology, chemistry, and physics. Students not enrolled in the AP-aligned physics course during senior year may choose from several honors or AP-aligned Earth and space science courses.

The goal of the science program is twofold: to present students with the opportunity to discover the orderliness and wonder of the natural world and to understand the laws governing this order. The science program provides enhanced opportunities to students naturally gifted in mathematics and science while providing all students a thorough background in the natural sciences.

Bro. Benjamin Knapp, S.M. ’93
Science Department Chair
Physics
bknapp@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Joseph Amorizzo ’07
Chemistry
jamorizzo@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Joseph Ceriello ’10
Physics
jceriello@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Andrew Corcoran ’01
Biology 9
acorcoran@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Peter Dubon ’99
Biology 10, Chemistry
pdubon@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Salvatore Garofalo ’08
Biology 9
sgarofalo@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. P. Casey Giordano ’93
Chemistry
cgiordano@chaminade-hs.org

Dr. Elias Kotsovolos
Biology 9, 10
ekotsovolos@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Robert Paul ’92
Chemistry
rpaul@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Pasquale Razzano
Biology 10
prazzano@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Jeremy Reyes
Biology 10
jreyes@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Ahmed Sarhan
Biology 9
asarhan@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Peter Warner
Physics
pwarner@chaminade-hs.org

Social Studies

Courses in global studies, European history, and United States history focus on the events and forces which shaped the world. Students also examine current events, studying contemporary trends in the context of political, economic, and social history.

Mr. Brian Anselmo ’89
Social Studies Department Chair
American History I
banselmo@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Darrin Dawber
Global Studies I
ddawber@chaminade-hs.org

Ms. Colleen Gilroy
European History
cgilroy@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Patrick Hoey ’01
European History, American History II
phoey@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Gregory Kay ’98
Global Studies I
gkay@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Vincent Jeffrey ’04
American History I
vjeffrey@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Patrick Kemp ’04
American History I
pkemp@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. John Mazzello
European History, Global Studies I
jmazzello@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Michael McCarthy
European History
mmccarthy@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Terence McCormick ’03
American History I
tmccormick@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Martin Munnelly ’87
Global Studies I, American History I
mmunnelly@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Robert O'Keefe ’04
American History II
rokeefe@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Kevin Parente ’82
American History II
kparente@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Christopher Safrath ’04
Global Studies I
csafrath@chaminade-hs.org

Bro. Lawrence Syriac, S.M.
Global Studies I
lsyriac@chaminade-hs.org

Mr. Gregory Walsh
Global Studies I
gwalsh@chaminade-hs.org

Powered by Finalsite